Same & Different

The main staple of my teaching career has been the game Memory.  I’ve used it at every student level from toddlers to teenagers. Quite frankly, I’m tired of the game 😉  But it has its uses. Teaching Same & Different with Memory seems appropriate.

If you are like me, you are on a limited budget for materials and supplies. I’d love to have flash cards of every thing I teach, but that’s unreasonable.  Hence my heavy reliance on videos.

This video is great for preschool ages who can’t quite grasp the idea of the game Memory. It allows them to watch and simply shout out “Same” or “Different” as they see the pairs.  I like having 2 videos because kids are memory sponges and will remember the order of every card quickly.

After they’ve watched the video, I don’t have to explain how to play Memory and we can play the game in all its glory.

Remember my plastic Shapes?  They are good for Same & Different as well.

wpid-2014-04-05-01.21.19-1.jpg.jpeg

“Find the same shape.”

“Find the same color.”


Here’s a game that we play often:

Draw Same or Different

I go first.  I use my handy whiteboard and divide into two halves.  I draw first something.  Then I tell my student to draw the Same or something Different.  If I say Different, they can draw whatever they want. Then they get to go first and they get to decide if I will draw Same or Different. I wish I had taken more photos of my favorites, especially the “Sames”.

wpid-imag0033.jpg

wpid-imag0022.jpg

 

About ltpickens

Private English tutor for children and adults in Krasnodar, Russia.

3 responses to “Same & Different

  1. Pingback: Set – the Card Game | Awesome Teacher

  2. Pingback: Memory | Awesome Teacher

  3. Pingback: Opposites | Awesome Teacher

Leave a Reply

носитель английского языка, американка, американец, американский, преподаватель, репетитор, учитель, частные уроки, занятия английским, дети, взрослые, иностранный язык, разговорный английский, бизнес английский, Краснодар, Россия, English as a second language, English as a foreign language, ESL, EFL, native English language, American, tutor, teacher, private lessons, children, adults, foreign language, conversational English, business English, Krasnodar, Russia