Future-ama

Futurama-Episode-113--Fry-and-the-Slurm-Factory

Back to my philosophy: I don’t care what we are doing or what we are talking about, as long as it’s in English.

Building lessons for older children as I’ve said can be challenging.  I want to engage them. I want them to learn, even if they don’t.  I find inspiration from my own struggles to learn a foreign language.

I love cartoons, especially those for adults like Simpsons, Family Guy and Futurama.  I’ve watched every episode several times.  When I started learning Russian, I watched those same episodes in Russian with Russian subtitles.  Through my own memory and context of the show, I quickly learned new vocabulary and sentence structure.  Even better, it was real language (as opposed to the kind that only exist in textbooks).

I was thrilled when my student said he was crazy about Futurama too. I was even more thrilled as I started searching the internet and found other ESL teachers who had made worksheets from the show.

From Season 1 episode – Space Pilot 3000, which can be found streaming at www.free-tv-video-online.me


from busyteacher.org


This also introduces the conversation starter

What will the future be like?

What will the future be like in 50 years?
What will our computers look like?
How will we use our phones?
How will we make food at home?
Will we have flying cars?  What else?
What kind of robots will we have?
Where will travel in space?
What will schools be like?
Will we still use books?
What will our houses look like?
What will the music sound like?
What will people wear?

Children have a knack for predicting the future, after all they are the ones creating it.  Take a look at the future of computing.

About ltpickens

Private English tutor for children and adults in Krasnodar, Russia.

Leave a Reply

носитель английского языка, американка, американец, американский, преподаватель, репетитор, учитель, частные уроки, занятия английским, дети, взрослые, иностранный язык, разговорный английский, бизнес английский, Краснодар, Россия, English as a second language, English as a foreign language, ESL, EFL, native English language, American, tutor, teacher, private lessons, children, adults, foreign language, conversational English, business English, Krasnodar, Russia