Learning works better when it’s fun

I’m a firm believer that if I’m not enjoying my lesson, then neither is my student, and it’s not effective. Learning a new language is difficult. There is no shortcut to learning the thousands of words and hundreds of grammar rules needed to speak fluently. It takes a truly motivated individual to stick with the process, especially when you feel like you’re not making progress. Most of us (me included) need motivation to get us over the hurdles and onward on our journey.

I find that most students can stick with a new hobby for about 3 weeks. After that, the novelty has worn off and it becomes a chore that is now taking up valuable time in their lives. This is when they need a great teacher.

I strive to make my lessons unique, non-formulaic, thought-provoking, and honest. I pride myself on the fact my style of teaching would never be accepted in an institution, because it’s way too informal. I encourage my young children to make messes and silly jokes. I talk about video games and cartoons with my older children. I talk about about relationships and swearing with adult students. Because that’s what’s interesting to them. When a student is free to talk openly and honestly, they don’t stop. And it’s all in English.

A classic teacher would scoff at my approach. But just like the video, it’s hard to argue with the results.

About ltpickens

Private English tutor for children and adults in Krasnodar, Russia.

Leave a Reply

носитель английского языка, американка, американец, американский, преподаватель, репетитор, учитель, частные уроки, занятия английским, дети, взрослые, иностранный язык, разговорный английский, бизнес английский, Краснодар, Россия, English as a second language, English as a foreign language, ESL, EFL, native English language, American, tutor, teacher, private lessons, children, adults, foreign language, conversational English, business English, Krasnodar, Russia